The Basilica Cistern

Today, I was in the depths of the history… I am so impressed of what I have seen…
This enormous underground cistern was built by the Byzantine Emperor Justinian in 527. Thanks to the marble columns rising from water level and seeming like countless in number, it was nick named "the Sunken Palace" by the public. There are 336 columns in it with 9 m height each. There are also two Medusa heads in it and their story is very interesting, too… There was also so many fish in the water and I loved them!

Today was a wonderful day for me! I could see and take photos of the Basilica Cistern and had Sultanahmet meatballs which are very delicious as lunch…

Thank you SO much for your Hearts, stars and fabulous comments for the Bosphorus Bridge blip! So kind of you!

Have a great week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.