Wet, wet, wet for Water Aid!

I don't think the rain has stopped today (only slowed down) and it's been grey and miserable again. So spending a day printmaking was a good choice.
The prints on the right were completed on a wood engraving course with Angie Lewin. The plate has been sitting on my bookshelf since February, looking decorative, and as we were asked to provide small prints, no bigger than six by four to raise money for charity I thought I'd give this block a go. I quite like the multi-colour (the originals were black). They are hand burnished on thin Japanese paper which is one reason they look different to the others. Meanwhile the others (on the left) still need another layer printed on top. I've got into the habit of using my ink up on these small wood-block prints rather than throw it away at the end of a session. They'll be usable as cards if they don't turn out to be good enough to make stand alone prints.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.