Kendall is here

By kendallishere

R-E-S-P-E-C-T

This is a blatant excuse to talk about street photography and ethics, and to draw into the picture a wonderful photographer, Ron Corbin, whose work I just discovered. Not only are his photographs exquisite photographically, they also stir the heart, reminding us of the many people we never see in photographs.

I deeply appreciate his courage, respect for those he photographs, and the respect of people like our own Fernando Cohen, Barrioboy, and RaspberryJefe, who often blip people on the margins, people who are invisible to most passersby.

Often the people photographed, and I include my own work in this, are men. A local pair of young women is trying to raise money on Kickstarter for a documentary about women of color in the building trades. If you might be interested in supporting this, have a look at their (rather goofy) trailer.

My picture for today is the opening of an old photography book called Work, edited by Ferdinand Protzman, published by National Geographic in 2006. The picture is by Steve McCurry. I hope my cropping is clear and that I am not violating McCurry's photocopy in any way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.