weewilkie

By weewilkie

sap

Walking into town today along the river. Beside the SECC trees were shedding their leaves. The leaves were dry, crisp and deeply beautiful in a muted way. The tree pulls its sap back into the body of the trunk and down towards the roots for the winter and off drops its leaves. These wee fractal skeletons of its season of growth.

The sap is the important stuff, the essence. All else is mortal remains.

So I've been following my own sap deeper these last days. Down out of the stormy branches of the mind and into the trunk. And there is some ineffable force down there. A life force. Sap. Pure Consciousness. Something I've tried to grasp but it slips away when I do. That is what I need to practise. Being easy, letting things come and go without trying to latch on to them. Let my thoughts and feelings dry up and drop away like these dead leaves. The sap is where life is at. The sap will rise when it is time and there will be blossom, seeds and fruit.

If I am gardener enough to tend these roots then this will happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.