Good and ready, they are...

On my short jaunt into downtown this morning, I came across dozens of people that had that Thank-Heavens-it's-Friday look. You know the one; glazed from exhaustion, grey complexion and bloodshot eyes because they've been stewing underneath fluorescents all week, slight spring in their step because they can see the light at the end of the tunnel...for now.

I wanted to blip them but they moved and scampered about so fast and the ones waiting for buses were dancing...not for joy but to keep the cold at bay. In this part of downtown, the sun rarely hits the pavement, leaving the poor souls to stare up at the buildings for glimpses of sun and reflections of blue sky.

The coiffed and doused-in-cologne corporate guy in the elevator, on the way back to his car in the parking tower, was practically giddy for ducking out of a meeting early and getting a start on his weekend before anyone else. I know more about what he's going to do this weekend than what I'm going to do. Do I have "please tell me all about your life in ten seconds or less" written on my forehead? Actually I don't mind, his bubbliness was infectious.

Our weekend will be sunny and not too cold but the poor folks out on the East Coast....that's another story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.