CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Lingy End - nearly Lynda End

Feet up now with a G&T.

Today we parked the car at Rosthwaite (after C & D having another early start going to Castlerigg stone circle). From Rosthwaite we walked past Birkett's Leap and Puddinstonebank, over Bowdergate Gill to Wadendlath farm where we enjoyed coffee / tea / hot chocolate. It was nearly "what a laugh farm" as it felt like the last laugh I had - it was all uphill and down dale after that but felt like my legs were going to fall off at the hips.

We passed Dock Tarn and several walkers warned us about the steep uphill and downhill section through the woods (I think our intended path was temporarily closed) - but we thought that they were exaggerating.

Maybe I exaggerate as it only affected me but each step for about a mile seemed like murder. We eventually went over High Crag (the name is a bit of a clue as to what this was like) and then down through the woods between Lingy End and Willygrass Gill. I'm listing all of these names as I know that at least one of you will have an Ordnance Survey map out now. It was this downhill section which was the killer - very steep and quite a scramble -for my little legs anyway. The group of Mountain Goats in my company were loving every minute as they scampered down the boulders swinging their Nordic Poles and baa-ing at the Herdwick sheep that we passed.

At long last the car - I was so pleased to see it!

By the way, maybe I'm a wimp. Yes, I am a wimp. We kept seeing an old boy with a friend/relative on the same route. Doreen put her Miss Marple hat on and after telling him that he reminded her of The Sundance Kid, found out that he is 83 and that this was his third walk since Saturday (it's now Wednesday).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.