Michaelhouse Cafe.

After visiting the bank and post office in Cambridge city, I then went to the Contemporary Art Gallery in Trinity Street. There were some lovely works of art on show including paintings, ceramics and glass and although many were reasonably priced, I was just looking not buying. Then into Michaelhouse Café nearby for coffee and a cheese scone. From 1546 to 1908 it was a parish church for local residents, supported by Trinity Clergy. However, by the 1990's, the whole building became in need of significant repair and the church was adapted for a wider community. Michaelhouse has become a trendsetter, where, as well as the usual church services, there are lunchtime recitals, talks, poetry readings etc, and today there was a photographic exhibition celebrating the magic of the darkroom. This was the view from my table in the café section. I thought better about carrying my tray up the spiral staircase !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.