Elroyofderovers

By Elroyofderovers

Pleasantly Surprised

This is the Mosque opposite my office. I really like the architecture of the buildings but didn't think I would like the call for prayer chants that come out 3 or 4 times a day...but it is growing on me...and I might even like it ;-)

As for the rest of my day, it was pretty eventful! I had to make a trip to the other side of Dubai to get my medical for my Visa. But the drivers at work finish at 4:00, so I was offered the option to get in the shuttle bus used to transport some locals home. So I thought why not.

So I get some little mini bus with some of the Indian and Philipino folk from the office. 2 hours later I am on my own with the driver. In the middle of what can only be described as shanty town for the construction workers. He then tells me too much traffic for the bus and he will drop me at the car park and his brother will take me in his car....thankfully his brother never turned up. So he eventually drops me off and leaves me on my own. It was like something from a film. I am clearly the only European in the building. A wee bit of special treatment to skip the line, then I end up in a tini little room with 4 Indian's and a Pakistani man....then I get told to take my clothes off....thankfully he just meant my shirt.

40km taxi journey home and I have survived....so far.

Next time I would just pay the AED 600 and go to the private clinic I think....but a pretty eye opening experience none the less.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.