walking in the city

By inthecity

Relics*

Today's blip is dedicated to my dad, who passed away fourteen years ago today. These are the tools of his trade, before the digital tsunami hit the Graphic Communications industry (and everything else for that matter). He retired around the same time I entered the graphics scene and I still remember taking him to the 1991 Graphics Trade Show on my guest pass. We were wide-eyed the whole time--like it was the first ever World Fair--and he admitted to me on the car ride home that he was happy to be out of the fray.

He looked exactly like this as a younger man, minus the pilot's goggles, and I loved him dearly.


*okay, maybe not the swing lupe. But the other tools--the type scale, registration pins, cutting tools and brush for working RubyLith©--they're relics of a bygone graphics era. Frighteningly recent at that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.