Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Antioxidant mucus

Today, I was reading about beauty products that contain snail mucus. The cosmetics companies claim that it helps protect the skin from the effects of ageing. It sounded disgusting and improbable to me, but then I got home and picked this apple from our tree and saw a snail was eating it. I discarded the snail and thought no more about it, until I noticed that 4 hours later the apple has still not turned brown around the bite marks.

Interesting, no? I wonder if snail mucus is anti-oxidative. There might be a half-decent research topic in this...

My husband just thinks that the slime is forming an air-tight seal between the apple and the environment, but I don't think that mucus is able to do that. What do you think?

Edit to add: this morning the apple is still not brown and I had time to do a quick literature search. It turns out that snail mucus *does* contain anti-oxidants, namely superoxide dismutase (SOD) and Glutathione-S-Transferase Activity (GST). If you want to have a read, take a look at this paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.