Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

The milk of human kindness

On the way home from work I popped into the supermarket.
Distracted by the special offer on veggie products, I quite forgot why I'd gone there in the first place.

It wasn't until I was standing at the checkout, and seeing the purchases of the woman behind me (yup, I was born nosy) that I realized what I'd forgotten: milk.

I grabbed my purchases and told her to go first, explaining I wanted what she'd got.
Oh, stay there she said, if I guarded her belongings she'd go and get it for me. With that she rushed off, her handbag on the floor next to me, purse on full view.
She came back with the milk, I thanked her profusely, and we paid and went our separate ways.
Her kindness, and absolute trust gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling. Thank you, whoever you are.

This evening, R and I went to the cinema to see The Hundred-Foot Journey.

Afterwards we had a glass of wine in the bar at the ice-skating rink watching the skaters glide past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.