Being Dad

By BeingDad

Friday night in

After what seems to feel like the longest week of work ever (& it was only 4 days long), it is great to have an evening knowing I can lie in tomorrow. When littl'un wakes me at 4am tomorrow, I can go back to bed instead of counting the minutes until I get up and leave at 6 to begin my commute.
I've found this week tough. It's been lovely coming home to Kate and Evelyn, but I already feel like I'm missing out (even though all Evelyn is doing is whining and groaning) & I am not sleeping well in the slightest. Although not wanting to associate my daughter with my grotty student house; her constant groans and squeaks keep me constantly on edge, similar to when I had to cope with a small mouse that terrorised me in the dead of night for my second year at uni. It didnt end well for the mouse, but I'll give Evelyn a bit more leeway.
The high points make up for it though. Watching Evelyn holding her head up and seeing it teeter from side to side before it crashes into your chest like a drunk is highly amusing and her aggressive attempts at feeding through my jumper allowed me to teach her some basics of biology. Its not quite clicked for her that Daddy is un-milkable. She'll learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.