Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

On the edge of the pond

Dear Diary,

Had to get back out by the pond to see what the rain storm wrought. Lots of leaves off the trees and pine needles too. I loved the way they seemed to make a curving golden path along the edge of the shore. The water level is up a tiny bit but this is Nature's way of preparing for the ice and snow of winter...giving it room to settle in.

A small chipmunk momentarily joined me on the shore, so immersed in gathering acorns that he didn't notice me standing there. All the birds and animals are preparing for the winter to come despite the warm weather we've been having. They know better than to waste this time basking in the sun.

I have a few more bulbs to plant today and a bit of dividing of yet more irises which I'll do this afternoon. At least all the beds have been thoroughly watered and I'm thinking it is time to put away the hoses.

I long for the bulbs to arrive, for early autumn chores are melancholy, but the planting of the bulbs is the work of hope and always thrilling.

~May Sarton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.