Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Keep Calm and Eat Cake

After nearly two weeks with Mum and Dad, I went back to work today. I'm on standby in case the hospital calls with a date for the biopsy, and if we're lucky Dad might even go straight onto the ward after that to have the last of the fluid in his lung lining drained which will make him feel much better.

I took a chocolate cake into the office to celebrate my birthday a day late, only to find that a huge cake had already been got for me, plus a card signed by my team-mates. We're saving the extra-large one for next week...

It was a very busy day, recording an interview about Water Aid for Costing the Earth, mixing next Wednesday's 15-minute episode of the Radio 4 series Germany: Memories of a Nation, recording and editing this week's edition of The Science Hour for World Service and finally mixing an Inheritance Tracks piece for Saturday Live. What with that, catching up with my work-mates and eating cake I don't know where the day went.

I arrived home just in time to go out again for our first book club meeting in ages at Naomi's house. Friend Sarah T baked the delicious banana cake in the picture for me and fellow book clubber Sarah H, who has her birthday next week. Lots of oohs and aahs as a giant indoor sparkler was lit on top of the cake, and then everyone sang Happy Birthday to us. It was good to see all my lovely Chesham ladies and catch up. I was literally fidgeting with over-tiredness by the end of the evening, and managed to knock a glass onto the floor and break it, though luckily there was nothing in it. Once home, I fell into bed exhausted and slept for hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.