earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Autumn Hawthorn

I'd made plans for a run up Simon's Seat first thing this morning. I was supposed to have company but that didn't work out so I ended up going out on my own, starting and finishing at Bolton Abbey, running up over Barden Moor and returning down Wharfedale. I used to do this route on a very regular basis but I actually don't think I've done it since I started blipping. It's been quite a while - long enough indeed to make an unintended detour early on. I think there was a sense of destiny about that because trying to get back on route I stumbled across this rather fine wizened old hawthorn, festooned with berries. I think the journal is due a hallmark solitary tree!

After chatting with some people on the top, including the hilarious Sarah, I had to get a move on to reach Bolton Abbey in time to catch the bus back to Ilkley. I made it with less than a minute to spare after a fairly rapid last couple of miles. It would have been an almost five hour wait for the next one! The way my legs felt I was grateful not have to do that 6 miles on foot.

We're in the second half of October and it felt like a summer's day. I was lucky (or the other passengers were) that I was able to get a seat by myself I was sweating so much. In Leeds on Thursday evening, after the gig, people were sitting outside drinking. The weather could only be described as balmy. I can't help but feel that down the line there is going to be a price to be paid. I think we could be in for a very cold winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.