horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Moorhen in the Hand

I'm sort of making a habit of this.

Not the type of thing that should be possible. This Moorhen was sitting on the boardwalk, hardly moving as I got closer, and putting up little in the way of complaint as I reached out. Not sure if it was injured, or had been dazed by something (there was a guilty looking Canada Goose just to the side) but 5 minutes in my hand seemed to perk him a little (given he started to peck at my fingers), so put him to the side and he wandered a yard or so into the reeds. Safer there than with people walking past and the possibility of being snaffled by a dog.

Earlier there was a Sparrowhawk amongst the Goldfinches.

First batch of gluten free homebrew now on the go. Well, I say that, I'm still waiting for the wort to cool down enough to add the yeast. I shouldn't be impatient really, given the length of time before I can even drink it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.