Voyage of a Beagle & Lab

By Inez

What to read next?

It's been a horrible wet and windy day - matched my mood. The children are back to school tomorrow so after a week of fantastic fun all the chores that have been neglected have been undertaken and we're sorted for tomorrow.
Given that it is the last day of my holiday too I think that I'll get them into bed early tonight, bed times have been tremendously erratic here, and then I'm going to curl up with a book and a pup for a quiet evening to myself. I've only a chapter of Pat Barker's 'Regeneration' to read, I had decided to read this after my Mum and Dad raving about the play and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Not sure what to go on to next, this little collection has gathered by my bed and they all look rather good. Josh is reading The Maze Runner after seeing the film during the week and I'm not sure if I want to read it or go straight to the second one to find out what happens next! I did have a little smile to myself when I picked it up - my wonderful boy so wants to be a big boy and is enjoying reading big boy books but he's still holding on to being small with a Mr Tickle bookmark keeping his place!
Thinking of small boy, he felt the need to raahh at me as I got dressed this morning -
Josh - I need to raahh at you!
Mum - Why?
J - I just do.
M - Ok, you better get on with it!
J - Raaaahhhhhh!!!!!!!!!
M - That it?
J - Yeah
M - Ok, as long as it made you feel better.
J - Nah, not really, I was all ready feeling pretty good!
I don't know if I wish to be eleven again or just to know what goes on inside his head, got to love him and yet again I wish I could keep him just as he is, High School next year and all I can say about that is raahh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.