My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Re-tracing our Footsteps.....

....... or should I say tyre tracks - after losing all my pics. yesterday. It's not the exact route but good enough!

No such trauma today, thank goodness - loading from my camera went without a hitch, I'm pleased to report!

This is the lane leading into one of the villages about 6 miles from mine.

I must say the weather was even better than yesterdays - though perhaps a little windier. It was a joy to be out and about and some of the Autumn colours were really lovely.

As I have said - it's been a glorious day - no hint of the showers which were forecast - temperature has been in the mid 60s F.

Sad news of my neighbour, Albert and his lady, Dorothy, over the last few days. He knew, when they moved here not that long ago, that he had terminal cancer. Until about 10 days ago, he was going to fetch his paper every morning and said he felt reasonably well - but now he is extremely ill. One blessing is that he has not had much pain. I popped in to see him for a little while on Friday and was absolutely shocked to see how much he has deteriorated in just a few days. I had delayed going earlier because the house is always nearly bursting with relatives - I thought I had picked the right moment on Friday but there must have been at least 8 people milling around - I nearly didn't stay but his son had told him I was there - and he insisted I saw him.
He grabbed my hand and told me over and over again how pleased he was to see me. I must admit to nearly being in tears. It feels awful not to be able to help him in any way. A nurse does stay with him all night so that must be a great comfort to his partner. Oh, dear........

Hope you all have had a good weekend - Anni reminded me on Saturday that it's only about 9 weeks to Christmas - where on earth has the year gone!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.