PeterMay

By PeterMay

A Dog's Life

These two colourful beasts spotted in a shop window in Cognac. Not sure who would sit one or both around their living room fireside. I suspect they might languish in the window for some time.

In other news we staggered back to our hotel at 2am after our very late dinner at Château Otard. Didn't get to sleep until 3.30, and was then up again at 8 to resume my place at the stand to sign books for readers by 9.30.

After another large lunch (not sure how I am going to get into my suit for the awards dinner in London next Friday!), we forewent tonight's dinner, and shared a simple pizza and had a couple of mojitos al fresco in the central square (or should I say circle?) in Cognac. It was a balmy 23C as darkness fell, and we sat enjoying the warmth as if it were mid-summer. Really quite extraordinary weather.

While there, I picked up an email on my phone from a friend in New York, alerting me to a full page ad for my books on page 5 of the New York Times Review. Somehow they had managed to misspell my name - MEY! Down to earth with a bang! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.