gennepher

By gennepher

Waiting for a parcel...

Waiting for a parcel...it said three to ten days for it to arrive. After ten days I was ready to write a letter. I had chosen this firm to get my electronic device from because they said they delivered by Royal Mail.

Because I am deaf, I cannot telephone if a parcel goes back to the depot if it cannot be delivered, but with Royal Mail they put a note through the door and I simply drive to the nearest sorting office the next day. Simple...

I could have ordered this item for over £4 cheaper somewhere else but they only did courier delivery. No good to me if I am not in and they expect me to telephone them.

I gave it a couple more days, then as I went out to the car I looked over back gate. I never use back gate nor do I look over it. Sigh...over the back gate was this parcel that had been thrown over, obviously quite some few days before. I retrieved the said parcel. Here is a photo of it. The snails and slugs had dined magnificently on the address label. The cardboard box it was in began to fall apart as I lifted it up. It had been pouring with rain the previous few days.

So, how long had the parcel been there, and more importantly would my electronic device work now?

I had not had any letters for a few days. Then I felt between the letterbox opening and the draught excluder in the front door, and there was the card folded over that said they had tried to deliver, and had put it over the back gate.

Anyway, when I tried the device it did work. So I suppose all was well in the end, but I could have got it cheaper somewhere else.

I was writing this in bed 'cos I was going to to sleep in a minute...then something tickled my leg. I lifted the duvet and shot out of bed...the largest wasp I have ever seen...or was it a hornet...I don't know where it has gone now, and I am not getting back in my bed tonight...

UPDATE 20 minutes later...I stripped my bed...and found him. It was a hornet. He looked very sleepy. I was not going to spray killer stuff in my bedroom or on my my bed. So I got a glass jar and card and got him in quickly. But he began to behave oddly. He was very angry and curled up and was holding his stinger in his front legs, rolling over and over and attacking the jar. I had only one thought at this point and that was to get him put of the house as quickly as possible. So I opened the bedroom door and chucked the glass jar into the garden and shut the door quickly.
I am not going to bed tonight, but every time I feel a little tickle...aagghhh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.