rachelsmarathon

By rachelsmarathon

I did it!!

26.2 miles in 4:55:56 hrs:mins:sec

I am so very proud to say that I finished and inside the 5 hr time limit. It was a little slower than I hoped but my best on the day.

The day started well as I woke up feeling no more coldy than I had the day before. After a big bowl of porridge Rob, Dad and I set off to Abingdon. We met Matthew in the carpark and walked up to the stadium. There was quiet a bit of waiting around before the start but eventually we checked our bags in and lined up for the start.

By this point I had met two lovely rmr runners (Emma and Emma) both of whom I saw several times on the way round which was a real boost.

The gun went and we had started. I was aiming for 11 minute miles. By mile 3 I was already in the back group just in front of the sweeper minibus!! I teamed up with two ladies Gemma and Lisa at this point which made it considerably easier. I ran with Gemma from here until mile 18. She had amazing positivity which really rubbed off on me and definately saved me in the final miles.

We trotted along well. Mile 13 came and went. ( I have decided half marathons are my distance. I love the first half). By mile 18 I was beginning to struggle a little and had to slow down. Part of my issue was, for me, there was not enough water on the course. The water stations were with cups rather than bottles. Gemma ran ahead but I kept her in my sights until mile 21.

Miles 21/22 were hell. I was really struggling. There was hardly any supporters out by this point and I was running on my own. Somehow I managed to keep running and just focused on getting to mile 23.

Miles 24/25 I just plodded along. I didn't walk and kept my head down. It was mentally exhausting and I almost cried several times. I knew though if one tear fell it would turn into full on sobbing.

By mile 26 I knew I had no choice but to finish. The support from the runners returning to their cars was amazing and my pace picked up. Entering the stadium I could here my family and I just had to hold it together to get round the 400m.

Crossing the finishing line was heaven. I collected my beautiful medal and not so beautiful neon green T-shirt!
A shower followed by a pizza wrapped up the day.

Was it worth the 4 + months of endless training I hear you say? Well yes - it is one of the biggest achievements of my life. I am prouder of my 26.2miles than pretty much anything else I have accomplished. I think it proves that you can do anything if you put your mind to it and put the time in.

Will I do it again? I said never again...but the pain fades and the thrill is addictive. I will stick to half marathons and 10km for a bit but you never know!

What next? Well I'm looking forward to taking Wilf on some gentle 3 mile runs. I am looking forward to running 10miles for enjoyment at whatever pace I like. I am looking forward to other exercise. It is time to re-discover my love of spinning and try something new.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart to those who have sponsored us. If you would still like to sponsor us we would be so grateful.

I have enjoyed my blog so shall keep it up. I hope you continue to enjoy reading it :)

p.s if I've inspired you to put your trainers on and go for a run (or even think about doing so) well done! I can still remember not being able to run 200m without feeling like I was about to topple over. Everyone starts somewhere. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.