FotoAlex

By FotoAlex

The valley from a B-17

Amazing! I got to fly in a World War II-era B-17G. It's called Sentimental Journey and turns 70 next month. It didn't see action during the war, though it did fly during the tail end of the Pacific theater.

It was absolutely incredible. One of the highlights of my life. The weather was nice, the skies were mostly clear, and the views were great. I'd never even been in a propeller plane before, let alone a warbird.

I picked this shot out of more than 150 because I like the angle. We're banking and I'm facing the tail. It just looks good.

I can't imagine what those men went through during the war. This is a cramped plane with lots of places to get hurt. I don't want to think about flying over Germany with flak exploding and Bf 109s chasing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.