Me

Today was a sad occasion, in that I had to attend the funeral of a friend of mine, who I have known for over forty years. He was some twenty-two years older than me, so he had a good innings and died peacefully in his sleep at home. Nevertheless the parting of a friend is still a sad occasion, as is the funeral service.

The picture of me looks much happier than I actually felt, leaving the Wake, after meeting up with many of his other friends and chatting about all the funny and interesting events in which he had participated with us. Today’s picture is of me in a suit, as this is a very rare occurrence these days, I now hate dressing smartly; I had to dress smartly every day of my working life as I was a practicing Chartered Engineer, working in avionics. I like to be able to do things and smart clothes tend to interfere with many of the activities in which I like to be involved. Although having a very reasonable theoretical background I also am very practical, so my usual dress these days is jeans, a tee shirt and appropriate footwear for what I am doing, even when I was tutoring for the Open University.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.