WYAS

By WYAS

Pierre - Leeds, England

Camera One

"Meet Pierre who I met for the first time today in Leeds Market for the 'When You're a Stranger' blip project.

I didn't know I was going to be taking this photo today but I met up with MrJohn at lunch time and we headed to Leeds Market to take (or should I say 'make' - Ansel Adams) some photos. We were discussing how portrait shots can be difficult and the approaches people take in getting the picture they want to make.



A lot of people take pictures of someone without that person even knowing and that resulting photo ending up on a web-site somewhere, but today I introduced myself to Pierre and asked him if I could take his photo. I was intrigued by his butchers shop in Leeds Market called 'Your African Butcher'. I learned that he and his wife left South Africa 9 years ago due to the violence and have settled in Leeds as his wife is originally from Grimsby and Pierre has been running the butchers shop for the past 3 years. His wife is running a shop opposite to his called My African Shop/Deli. He gave me his business card and asked me to e-mail the blipfoto link to him.



So Pierre, I say thank you for letting me take your portrait."

Stranger by SnapshotSam

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.