Oldgroaners Phone&Compact

By Oldgroaner

California Dreaming?

Actually no, I'm painting the Wild and remote headland and bay of Kettleness, North Yorkshire.
Long ago a village stood on the clifftop in the curve pictured, then came a great storm in 1829 and during the night the entire village slid down into the sea.
Fortunately there had been strange noises and earth tremors and the villages had been evacuated before it happened.
The cliffs here are hundreds of feet high.
When I was young there used to be a very steep and dangerous way down to the beach using the old village road and track.
I remember going down with equally foolish friends, and wishing we hadn't!
A chap was killed in July 2014, presumably trying to follow it.
Now in my 70's, I look at the cliffs and wonder at the foolishness of my youth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.