WYAS

By WYAS

Eric - Hautes-Pyrénées, France

Camera Six

"I went to the river and found the crowd from Météo 65 there. They were having a picnic to spend some time with all the people who'd volunteered for the clearing-up operations after the floods here in the Hautes-Pyrénées. These people really deserve a medal, each one of them, after spending weeks in the mud and rubble (and worse) to clear out people's homes, river-banks, lakes etc...

Because of their efforts, many local businesses managed to open up again just in time for the summer-season. There's still an enormous amount of work to be done, but they have shown that there's hope in a seemingly hopeless situation.



Today they had a well-deserved day off.

Well done to all of you!



So I bumped into them. A lucky coincidence and opportunity to record my 'stranger' (I had heard of them but had never met them before).

On the camera I have recorded Eric, who was actually very shy.

The asking-bit wasn't that hard actually and Eric was very positive about the project (thought it was great there's no advertising on the Blipfoto-card) and they're all looking forward to seeing the photo appear eventually, although he appreciated it will probably take a while. No, the scary bit was the photograph itself, only one and no way of knowing whether it's any good (probably not). Also, when I wound it on, did I have to hear a click? I didn't, but I didn't want to wind it on too far and spoil all the other photographs!"

Stranger by: Fleur

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.