Sunbeams

By Saffi

Evenen Light

The while I took my bit o' rest,
Below my house's eastern sheade,
The things that stood in vield an' gleade
Wer bright in zunsheen vrom the west,
There bright wer eastward mound an' wall,
An' bright wer trees, a-risen tall,
An' bright did break 'ithin the brook,
Down rocks, the watervall.

There deep 'ithin my pworches bow
Did hang my heavy woaken door,
An' in beyond en, on the vloor,
The evenen dusk did gather slow;
But bright did gleare the twinklen spwokes
O' runnen carriage wheels, as vo'ks
Out east did ride along the road,
Bezide the low-bough'd woaks.

An' I'd a-lost the sun from view,
Until agean his feace mid rise,
A-sheenen vrom the eastern skies
To brighten up the rwose-borne dew'
But still his lingren light did gi'e
My heart a touchen jay, to zee
His beams a-shed, wi' stratchen sheade,
On eastward wall an' tree.

When jay, a-zent me vrom above,
Vrom my sad heart is now a-gone,
An' others be a-walken on,
Amid the light ov Heaven's love,
Oh! then vor loven-kindness seake,
Mid I rejaice that zome do teake
My hopes a-gone, until agean
My happy dawn do break.


William Barnes, the Dorset dialect poet.

Pub lunch to day, delicious roast belly of pork that had been slowing clooking for 12 hours!!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.