Boating Weather

Cosmo had a rest from my company today. Instead I went down to the seaside to see what the sea looked like. It was high tide, and rather to my surprise, despite the strong wind, the sea was not as rough as I have seen it some other times. As the tail end of hurricane Gonzalo passes over perhaps the sea will be more agitated tomorrow. Even so it was not an evening for going out sailing.

Some people have no choice about going to sea, and this ship, the "Blue Power" was sailing out of the harbour this afternoon. though she was not going far, later in the afternoon she was anchored offshore in Aberdeen Bay, joining the many other ships I could see from the shore.

"Blue Power is a supply vessel built in 2013. She is one of the newer design of vessel with no bow flare. No doubt this is an efficient design, but for me less aesthetically satisfying than the more traditional bow shape. Being of such recent construction at least the crew will presumably be reasonably comfortable as they contemplate the shore, so near yet so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.