On My Way Home from Hailes Quarry Park

Well it turned into a lovely bright day in the end.
We had a college visit to a park just close to Wester Hailes and The Union Canal, in order to look at development of green spaces, their continued maintenance, community involvement etc.
Hailes Quarry Park was originally a quarry from which Hailes Sandstone was removed and used to build the majority of the New Town. The site was later used for landfill, and now has been made into a much improved green space.
This photo was taken as I cycled back to college along the canal. I did not cycle over the aqueduct as it is so narrow, and it is safer for walkers if you dismount! The canal was used to take the quarried sandstone (mentioned above) into town, it also gives great views of Arthurs Seat.
My cottage garden design, did very well today at college when I presented it, so I am very pleased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.