Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

First things First

I met this gentleman and his friend early in the morning sitting on a street bench. He made enough eye contact with me that I knew I could ease in for some conversation. Both of them talked about being homeless, living in a shelter (they know my friend Paul, who lives at the same shelter) and about their inability to stop drinking.

"We're homeless alcoholics," they said. "It ain't pretty but it's the truth." Both of them were unsuccessfully trying to hide beer cans under their jackets. They are friends and clearly look after one another. Each had a sense of humor that truly had me belly laughing in no time. They readily agreed to have their photo taken, and in the case of the man with the beard, he wanted to spruce up with his comb. "First things first," he said. Since I already had my beer, I guess it's time to get good lookin' for the camera."

Their struggles with addiction were obvious and I walked away with a lump in my throat as it seems there is no easy help for them. They were weary and perhaps resigned to their future, however each maintained a sense of dignity and humanity by wanting to look their best for me. The sharing of this intimate moment of daily grooming caught me off guard and has tugged at me throughout the day.

A few more photos:Friends


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.