Plugging Along

I'm in my sixth year of studies with the cello, an instrument whose mellifluous tones I've long admired. As an alto 2 in chorus, I'm wondering whether my affinity for the cello is due to my vocal range being so similar to my cello's?

But alas, the warm, liquid cello sound that I love has proven to be a challenge for me to achieve. I've certainly come a long way since day one, but there is still a lot of work ahead before I arrive at where I'd like to be. I recall that Pall, my former cello teacher, once told me that I should expect to invest at least 10 years of playing before I hit pay dirt. I guess this means I'm more than halfway there!

My friend Joan and I are very, very happy with our new teacher, Megan. Despite her youth, she has a knack for zeroing right in on the issue and providing concrete solutions. She's also pretty good at taking a photo while critiquing my bow technique! Two thumbs up for Megan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.