WYAS

By WYAS

João - Lisboa, Portugal

Camera Twelve

"So after receiving the camera last tuesday, I started thinking how would I go about this "take a photo of a stranger" thing.

Only recently did I start taking photos of people on the street regularly and I never approach the subjects. I'm not what you'd call a shy person, but rather it's something I never do. Anyway, my plan was: do it when I had R with me (so it doesn't look so menacing if I were to approach a girl/woman) and do it during the weekend (more opportunities as the weekly work routine doesn't leave me with much time left).




We stopped of for some lunch and after having toast and some drinks, I was enjoying the scenary and observing the guy in charge of the esplanade. There was no one ordering stuff, so he sat on a basket and started smoking a cigarette. He had a very cool and relaxed pose.



I went for it.

He'd been nice when I ordered our stuff so I approached him. I asked if he'd mind me taking a photo, I showed him the camera, tried to explain the project and the site. He said he didn't mind, so I took a step back and got my shot. I then thanked him, asked his name (João) and promised to tell him when/if his face shows up on Blipfoto.



And that's it. All in all, writing all this down to describe the experience was harder than the act itself."

Stranger by: Polaroidblips

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.