Opposites Attract

There's both dark and light,
Coursing through every day,
Opposites attract.


I actually made this image for a poem on the blog tomorrow but as we had an indoors day I used the time for it today.

So, my lovely plumber came today. His opening words were something along the lines of "I dread doing your boiler!" After much rattling, discussing, helpline-ing, radiator and tap twiddling we decided that the main fault is somewhere in the hot water function. The radiators were doing as expected and the awful clanging subsided a little.

"I know when I said I didn't like the sound of it last year, you said that it had done that ever since you moved in but it's not right!" I had to agree that I was now noticing it more and the water wasn't getting as hot as it should. I used to have to run some cold into my bath and the washing up bowl but no more. I'm now adding kettles full of hot!

Next job will be a full system flush, a magnetic something-or-other filter to stop whatever is floating around and either one man here for 2 days or 2 men here for one depending on other jobs.

I mentioned I'd been tempted by a discount on a new boiler but I'm not convinced that the problem won't occur again as all the plumbing and electrical fixtures & fittings were a DIY job by the previous owner. He said it would be bad advice to suggest a new one as mine isn't old it just wasn't fitted efficiently but with a bit of tinkering should last just fine and save all the disruption and expense.

Taking towels and a change of clothes to work tomorrow so I can have a properly hot shower :)

Oh, and as we were home, Stella blogged :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.