With Her Little Ukulele In Her Hand

I was asked by my granddaughter's music teacher to take pics of the school concert this evening.

I've managed to wing it in the past because the concert has been held in the large hall with the musicians on the stage lit by proper stage lighting. They reserve a seat in the front row for me. No need for flash and enough light intensity to ensure the shutter speed doesn't fall too low.

A different kettle of fish tonight. We were in the old hall. It's lovely and more intimate but is lit by, not very bright, yellowy bulbs and the walls are yellow. I played around with my white balance to no avail. I took a few shots using the in-camera flash but I thought that would be unsettling for the musicians who were nearly in my lap.

I've edited my pics as best I can, it has taken ages. I decided to turn some into mono. I quite like this one of my granddaughter. Jeff Lynne of ELO said, "There's not much you can do with a ukulele that doesn't sound happy." I agree but she's proved you don't have to look it. :)

We really enjoyed the music. One of my favourites was the year sevens singing Happy and they really did look it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.