Leiflife

By Leiflife

A Fragrant House

Today I stayed at home, mixing up dough for the bread you see above. Buttermilk, honey and melted butter received the oats, the almonds and flour. Mixing takes muscle. The kneading comes from the heart to strengthen the hands. Hands feel the soft resistance, the gradual livening of the dough. It rests in a bowl and I let it be as I have let myself be on this gentle autumn day. Dividing the dough into several loaves of varying size, I think of the ones in whose hands I will place each loaf. A fragrant surprise to nourish the body and delight the soul... For me there is this resting...free of the usual demands. For me there is the fragrance of baking bread throughout my house. For me there is a solitary meal of fresh bread, grapes, cheese...giving my dog, Music, a taste. and of course there is the giving...the giving what I have received.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.