Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Maps of London, Wales, Ireland, Yorkshire...

Bella is with me for a few days while her parents are both working, so I am going to have to peel myself off the computer, which is how I've been spending my days lately. It appears that maybe Sue and I are really going to make it to that side of the Atlantic, maybe from mid-May to mid-June, 2015. We've been checking air fares, looking up B&Bs, reading reviews, poring over freespiral's book about walks on Sheeps Head Peninsula, also reading a wonderful book called The Gothic Enterprise, explaining the links among architecture, politics, spirituality, mathematics, and religion in the age of the cathedral builders. I've never seen Salisbury or Wells, and we both want to see them. Bella went with me to Powells to get a few real paper maps, and although she has no idea what they represent, she was entranced by them.

We don't yet have our tickets. Mysteriously, airfares just went up by $400 on the day we were going to make our booking. Some say it's better to wait till closer to the date you're traveling--great deals are available at the last minute. Alternatively we hear that it will only get more costly every day we delay, and we may end up not being able to book at all. It's very confusing. I won't have much time, while keeping Bella, to read and comment, but I'll be interested to hear opinions on the question of the best time to purchase tickets.

I think this could be a happening thing. Very exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.