SightSinging

By SightSinging

Time Treasures

Blue,I think, gladdens my heart above every other colour.
These cynoglottis barrelieri from my Spring garden, remind me of my Dad and his garden at Point Wells in Northland.
The little wedgewood bowl was a gift on my 21st birthday and the Dickens collection was my English grandparents' gift to my Dad on his 21st birthday in 1933.
The molusc fossils are from a lime pit in the Hakataramea Valley, inland from Oamaru in the South Isalnd and I'm told, have been carbon dated as 35 million years old.
Evidence of the sea many many kilometres from our coast and about 50 metres above sea level.
Class: Scaphopoda
Order: Dentaloida
Superfamily: Dentaliacea
Family: Dentaliidae
Genus: Dentalium
Species: Dentalium mantelli Zittel, 1864
Locality: Hurstlea Limepit, Hakataramea Valley, South Canterbury, N. Z.
Age: Duntroonian Stage – late Oligocene
Preservation: Shell minus animal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.