Texann Times

By Texann

Egret taking flight

The bulging discs in my back are still stopping me from playing tennis regularly, but it was such a lovely day today that Leejohnaire and I decided to go and watch my Friday team playing at some courts not too far away.

These courts have some small lakes next to them, so in between matches, we went for a wander. There were various interesting ducks and geese around but when I noticed a Common Egret, I knew what my blip would probably be. Herons have always been a favourite of mine, not only to watch but also to photograph. They’re usually very cooperative standing side-on (always their best side!) and completely still. What more could you ask of a photographic model?! And egrets always look so spotlessly and gleamingly white. This one was a bit more skittish than some, and would take off as we got close, hence this shot. I particularly liked the shape and detail of the wings and the reflections in and movement of the water.

My tennis team had some great matches today – we won some and lost some. It’s a tough league but the team has done well this season, and has made enough points to stay at the same level next season. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get back to playing properly again soon but since they’ve been doing so well without me, the team may prefer that I just come, watch and take photographs of the surroundings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.