Bad weather

Today my organisation ran a conference about mental health and the internet, very much the brainchild of Acronymphomania and a great success.

The conference was held at the conference centre at Edinburgh University's Pollock Halls of Residence where I spent a very happy year in 1998/9. It was great to be there again, particularly in the bad weather. Somehow it always seemed to rain when I lived there - I recall endlessly traipsing back and forward to lectures in soaking wet jeans and a hoody. Urgh.

I think to appreciate just how bad the weather was today, please look at this photo next to the normal view.

The food for the conference was great - maybe things have changed but back in the day it was pretty basic and I had a jacket potato most days because it was the only thing you could be sure was edible. Tell you what, if you go for a conference these days the food is awesome! I wonder if the students are afforded the same luxury?

It was a great place to live though, other than the food and the weather, so it was lovely to be back for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.