Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Saw them all off to London this morning then pottered about all day. I'd preordered Russell Brand's new book "Revolution" and it arrived this morning so I spent some time immersed in that. It's certainly high time we had one. Then, not for the first time this week, my carefully arranged plan for the evening was knocked haywire by outside forces. Kit, Izzy and Vanya had just texted me to let me know they were on their train home when disaster struck, a train ahead of them on the line hit and killed someone. Obviously this meant the line was closed while they dealt with it and all trains delayed. Dealing with it however has proved more difficult than envisioned and so eventually Kit's train chugged back to Paddington and they found themselves in limbo. After several hours they ended up going over to Waterloo and catching a crowded slow train to Reading where I had to meet them as even the trains between Reading and Didcot were cancelled. Driving over to Reading isn't exactly onerous except for the unpleasant mixture of cataracts and night driving. I'm blind on my right side and although I can still see well enough with my left eye for daytime driving nighttime is a whole different ball game, light sources such as oncoming vehicles reflect around my clouded lenses dazzling and blinding me....so it was something of an epic round trip. I proceeded slowly and with extreme caution, no harm done but very stressful and very tiring. Back home I nuked burgers for the starving, tired travellers and then to bed, where I am finally getting round to posting my blip - taken earlier in the evening while I was having a play with the cheap shutter release I picked up for my new camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.