bivbov

By bivbov

Beachy Head Marathon

I've had a busy day so far, which means a choice of pictures to blip. After moments hours of deliberation I chose this one - a picture of GravyC (red vest) about 3 miles from the end of Beachy Head Marathon. Until yesterday, he was still undecided about running it. We don't get much time to train these days and he's only done one long run of 19 miles (I like to do at least 3 of that distance or more). Plus, NN gave him the runaround yesterday......

Anyway, he finished in 4.06 and was a little disappointed not to be under 4 hours. For those that don't know it, the route is punishing. The last 6 miles involve the Seven Sisters and Beachy Head, and I'd say it's about 30 -40 minutes on top of your usual marathon time. I don't think he should be disappointed with 4.06.....

Meanwhile, I had to take the boys up to the leisure centre to do the warm up for our running group. A friend then took the group off while ZQ helped to put up the bouncy Castle, and Noo and I searched for conkers. Once the group was over we dashed home to feed ZQ, and dashed out again to this marathon vantage spot near Belle Tout Lighthouse. Once we'd seen GravyC we raced into Eastbourne, fought for a parking space, and ran to the finish just in time to see him over the line!!!! Perfect timing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.