One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Oh non! Pas les Génins…

Les Génins...
I've known them for the last 40 years.

They straddle that strange territory when your parents' friends have become your friends since you reached adulthood (approximately 2.5 years ago*)

I was genuinely surprised and genuinely happy to see them come over to the Big Smoke.

The kids were thrilled to see them too. They are getting that Génin effect.

The thrill that I failed to experience, 38 years ago, as I was standing in the doorway in my pyjamas, at 8 PM, bald and tired, thorn at the knowledge that these were the people I most enjoyed seeing, but that I would not be allowed to stay up for much longer. Tentalus' ordeal was light in comparison...

My exclamation of "non! pas les Génins" was not an expression of regret at seeing them.
It was an expression of regret at not being able to enjoy their company for long enough.

38 years later I feel that it is important to set the record straight.


* no, I'm taking the piss, I'm being childish, I've been an adult since I was 21...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.