'Live all you can; it's a mistake not to.'

My job is almost completely stress-free. Except for the occasional rude or difficult person, it's easy and manageable and pleasant. However, it is also extremely dull and tedious. I go out of my mind on long shifts like today when the clock drags on. I miss working in a bar and constantly running around from task to task. There was always work to be done and the shifts- sometimes double what I'm doing now- flew by in an instant.

I got to a good part in the book I am currently reading- the Ambassadors by Henry James- on my lunch break. The protagonist relates to his younger friend to live as much as he can while he is still young and to live his life to its fullest. It was a nice reminder that while this job is not as stimulating as I'd like, I should make the most of it while I am here and not wish away the days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.