Richharris

By Richharris

Spinning Jenny

We went to a pottery workshop today. Apart from a ceramic tile I made at primary school which still adorns my parent's kitchen wall, I have never made any pottery. Jenny on the other hand is a seasoned expert and found this place near us where you can go and spend the day coiling, slabbing and throwing to your hearts content. It took us three attempts each to make anything passable on the wheel. It is quite difficult but manageable. I nearly had a corker of a bowl first time off but I over tweaked it and watched in horror as the bowl disintegrated into a stringy pile of wet clay in front of my eyes.

We chose the glazes and will get them returned to us fired in two weeks. I'm intrigued to see the end result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.