St Abbs

Today was my first time diving off St Abbs, which is on the East coast of Scotland, down near Eyemouth.

Had to leave well before dawn in order that I could get there by 8am. It was a glorious sunrise over the North sea and I got to St Abbs in time to take some photos of the harbour as the sun was rising.

After leaping out of the car and climbing up onto the harbour wall to get the pictures, I had to dump the camera back into the car boot and get changed into the diving gear as the boat was leaving at 9am. My dive buddies for today were Richard and Rob and we quickly got on the dry suits and collected our tanks, regulators, fins and other gear and headed for the boat.

We did two dives today, one in the morning and one in the afternoon, with the morning one at the Skerries. One dive was at a depth of 21m and the other at 18m. Over the two dives we spotted cod, wrass, pollok, crabs, lobster, prawn, starfish (including a large sunburst starfish), a variety of anemone and various small fish. A tiring but great day and a place I am already looking forward to going back to for more diving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.