HerbSusan

By HerbSusan

church pew or bar stool kinda town

Been for a long walk that included a visit to St Enodoc’s Church
A delightful little 12th Century Church that once got buried in sand and the congregation had to get into the church through a window in the roof. It has obviously been excavated and refurbished and it is where the former Poet Laureate John Betjeman is buried. Sadly his gravestone is modern. There are 2 stunning Celtic Crosses in the little cemetery. Which I am sure will appear in future blips (as one nearly appeared today instead of the church).
Rev Richard Coles was due to preach at 3:00pm but, even though I like him I wasn’t tempted to stay. As an atheist I’d rather wonder along the cliff path than listen to the a sermon.
Anyway I sat on a bench by the church and ate my sandwich, drank my tea and (with a lighter backpack) went on my merry way. A lovely day.

I know the clocks have changed but it’s already dark so it must be time for a gin!

Jason Aldean (a bit of Country& Western for those who feel the need)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.