Buckley Hughes World

By buckleyhughes

San Francisco skyline

Not a bad view to have over your morning coffee and home-made cookies, is it?

Had a very busy day today - we walked down (or was it up? who knows?) the Castro to Harvey Milk Plaza, then up (and it was definitely UP!) 17th St then hung a right and ended up at the intersection of Haight and Ashbury. Caught a hint of what the vibe might have been like 40 years ago, though I understand there has been a significant amount of gentrification since the likes of Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison et al hung out there.

Then we jumped on the hop on hop off city bus tour. Got off at the Embarcadero and walked along the harbour front to Fisherman's Wharf, then back on the bus to complete the circuit. Much photography was done, but I still think this picture encaptures the city that we saw.

Then, to have a bit of an adventure (safe, natch) we got the J trolley south to Bernal heights and went to what seems to be the only women's bar in SF. Unfortunately I seemed to manage to get myself in a conversation with yet another american whose politics it's safe to say I don't share (he described Obama as a black-faced Hitler... why me, eh?). Thenkfully our stop came pretty soon, so I didn't have to restrain myself for too long.

The bar itself was a bit of disappointment, so we only stopped for one drink. I should clarify - the bar itself was nice, the service was very poor, if not rude. Anyway, next door but one was a lovely little restaurant where we had a fantastic meal, then got the bus back to the Castro and decided to go on a little bar crawl... several drinks later we managed to walk back up the hill to our house... hic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.