Purplepants

By Purplepants

My poor boy-cat

Myki was hit by a car last night sometime between 7:30pm ish when we shooed him back home from following us to the pub and 9:40pm ish when we got back having picked up Alex from explorers to find him sitting on a kitchen chair looking a wreck. He growled at us and tried to get down when we touched him. He wasn't using his back left leg.

We took him straight to the out of hours vet in Gillingham who kept him overnight for examination and x-rays .
They phoned to say he had a dislocated hip and had bodily bruising with some trauma to the rib cage but no fractures.- They are sure he was hit by a vehicle as we suspected. I think he got off reasonably lightly.

I picked him up at 8 am today and took him to my own vet who sent him back home by 3pm with a lot of drugs to administer until Monday am when he will get an op to cut and re-set the bone into the hip. :-( Apparently he was not as much of an emergency as a few other animals...

We were told to keep him in a restricted area with no opportunity to climb or jump. I put my dressing gown on the laundry room floor over a cushion and sprinkled it with catnip. He spent all of the afternoon and evening on it. I gave up shutting the door after about two hours as he showed no desire to move.
I sat with him a few times he seemed not interested in doing much but was lightly purring when I stroked his head - growls if I touched his body or legs. You can see the shaved patch on his leg where he had a cannula. - he was sedated for the x-rays and examination.

Shut in the laundry room for the night. He has had a litter tray, food etc and has had two types of pain killers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.