My Town

One to go large on I think

This is Ilkley, bathed in late afternoon sunshine. As the days shrink rapidly in length the sun sets early behind the scarp of Ilkley Moor, casting the crags in shade while the town basks in beautiful light. It makes for an incredibly dramatic setting. Trying to make the best of yesterday's injury I went for a gentle walk, taking my time again, appreciating the full beauty of this special place where I'm lucky enough to live. I've been back at the computer again but to be able to take a walk from home and enjoy this kind of scenery means I cannot possibly complain.

The calf strain isn't too bad. I certainly did the right thing in stopping so promptly. I was wondering earlier whether I should really be trying to race any more. Perhaps the whole experience is just too frustrating? But then, walking up the road towards the moor, I chanced upon meeting Geoff Howard, someone whom has always been a hero and an inspiration to me. Geoff now competes in the Vet 70 Category. He's run sub 20 minutes for 5K this year. Ten years ago he was English and British Fell Running Champion at Vet 60. Five years ago he was again English Champion at Vet 65. A nicer and more unassuming chap you could never hope to meet. I'm not ready to give it up yet. Thanks for the pep talk Geoff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.