yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Budapest Day 2

Back home again after a wonderful 2 days in Budapest. This is my 4th visit to Budapest and it never fails to impress. The first time I went to Budapest was in the communist days and there is a huge difference in the people these days. They are very friendly, helpful and happier in contrast to their suppressed and rather surly demeanour pre Perestroika. As part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire there are similarities in the architecture and culture to Vienna and Prag. The coffee culture is a common theme and the coffee houses in Budapest, as in Vienna and Prag, are magnificent and the cakes are to die for. Check these out. We had a Hungarian tour guide who spoke German slowly and clearly so that I could understand the majority of what was said. He was very informative but I must admit that I prefer the freedom of my previous 2 visits to Budapest where we did our own thing. Here are some more sights.
This photo is of the dome inthe very imressive St Stephens Basilica.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.